MattePainting.Org

MattePainting.Org (http://mattepainting.org/vb/index.php)
-   General Discussions (http://mattepainting.org/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Launching "Tutorials" Page, stuff for beginners and professionals (http://mattepainting.org/vb/showthread.php?t=7409)

Garrett 12-05-2011 05:58 AM

Launching "Tutorials" Page, stuff for beginners and professionals

Hey MattePainting.org-ers,
I am currently a Digital Matte Painter working in the film industry. I have been doing matte painting for a while and have felt the desire to want to give back in some way. I also want to contribute to a tighter nit matte painting community where we all keep sharing knowledge.

So I have created a “Tutorials” section of my website where I am posting some tips and tricks of the trade for people getting started and also posting gadgets, tools, shaders, etc for the more advanced industry crowd.

I have posted some beginner stuff now and I will be rolling out some more advanced stuff within the week. If you want to be notified when those are available, follow me on twitter (@gfryart) or get my RSS feed off my website.

Here are some posts available now:
-What does a Matte Painter Need to Know?
-Some Advice for getting into Matte Painting
-Locations photography for Matte Painting
-EMI Creator: Great for Photoshop Brushes

Here is some stuff coming out this next week that you might think is cool:
-Nuke Projection setup with MARI Bridge integration.
-Setting up Multi Projections in Maya
-Maya Shader to view Multi Patch MARI Models
-Nuke/Mari Bridge Gadget for to use Multi Patch MARI Models in Nuke.
-Nuke Tree Card Gadget

Come take a look and leave me some comments. This is the first time I have done tutorials so some feedback would be cool.
Thanks
Garrett Fry
www.gfryart.com

Garrett 12-05-2011 06:11 AM

add a note

Looking around the forum just now I see people charging for tutorials and stuff. I wanted to add here that all the information I give is free. :)