MattePainting.Org
HOME Gallery Store FAQ Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MattePainting.Org > Resources > Articles
Reload this Page Texture size on 3D models
Articles Tips and Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Texture size on 3D models
(#1)
Old
Ars Robota's Avatar
Ars Robota is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: France
Send a message via MSN to Ars Robota
Default Texture size on 3D models - 10-28-2006, 04:50 AM

HI folks, a simple question that's torturing me for many weeks: when you apply a matte on a 3D model as a texture, how do you determine the size of your matte? do you use the 3D model size or something else?

Thank your for your precious help and don't stop painting!

Cheers,
Alex
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 10-28-2006, 08:31 AM

I'm not certain about the info your question is really pertaining to but here's what I gather.

3d modeling, in regards to size, is really irrelevant to pixel size of a bitmap. It's only relevant once it's rendered. So if you create a 500x500 pixel texture that is meant to go on a model that is then rendered out at 2000x1000 (at the same dpi) and the model takes up the majority of the render, then I'd say it's probably going to look like garbage. Then again, if you have it tiled, that changes the situation.

Hopefully that's the answer you were looking for?
Reply With Quote
Hi !
(#3)
Old
maxfurtado is Offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 254
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brazil
Send a message via MSN to maxfurtado
Default Hi ! - 10-28-2006, 10:34 AM

You can use the unwrap uv modifier to solve all your problems, the 3d application will generate the sized image for you paint, see my dirible textured 3d mesh in "Paris" post.

Best
Max
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
bcottman is Offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 185
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Default 10-28-2006, 01:17 PM

Your texture's resolution should be at least what the final output render res of that texture will be. For instance, a wall that fills half the render. If your rendering at 1024 pixels and half of it is filled with the wall, The wall's texture will need to be at least 512 pixels to maintain its resolution.


Brenton Cottman

Digital Matte Artist
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
Ars Robota's Avatar
Ars Robota is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: France
Send a message via MSN to Ars Robota
Default 10-28-2006, 03:18 PM

Thanx everybody, Max understood what I meant. I work with Cinema 4D and I'm going to watch the unwrap function in it. Anyway if anybody got any trick to improve this function, it would be nice!

Thanx for your help
Best regards,

Alex
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 10-28-2006, 06:01 PM

I use Cinema 4d as well and unwrapping UV's for texturing is a little cumbersome. Here's a few apps to keep in mind if you don't just use Bodypaint:

UV2BMP - http://www.r-j.de/c4d/beta.htm
UV2Object
Unwrap 3D - http://www.unwrap3d.com/

good luck
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
Ars Robota's Avatar
Ars Robota is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: France
Send a message via MSN to Ars Robota
Default 10-29-2006, 02:49 AM

Thanx dentsinger, you've guessed what I wanted! But UV2 BMP seems not to work...
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 10-29-2006, 06:17 AM

This is definitely an area I've struggled with so I just worry about creating materials and textures for the materials and then just painting in photoshop over the abnormalities. I've looked into it before, but it was such a pain, I lost interest. I'll dig further again since I'd really like to be able to texture the UV maps directly.
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 10-29-2006, 08:08 AM

Here ya go, this helped me:

http://www.cinema4duser.com/tech_tutorial03.html
Reply With Quote
(#10)
Old
Kutkin's Avatar
Kutkin is Offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Czech Republic
Default 10-29-2006, 09:50 AM

One of main things in 2,5D; 2,75D; 3D (:D) matte paintings is CAMERA MAPPING......

This is what you need:
http://www.3dfluff.com/cameramapping...mappingtut.htm

You don't need any unwraping. It just projects any image on the geometry...

Hope it helps
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com