MattePainting.Org
HOME Gallery Store FAQ Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MattePainting.Org > Resources > General Discussions
Reload this Page painting a sky image
General Discussions News, Chat ...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
painting a sky image
(#1)
Old
JayMTL is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default painting a sky image - 04-13-2005, 11:31 AM

I am new to this forum also to matte paiting. My art director gives me an assignment for a printing image, which is a matte paiting for the backgroud - stomy sky. He gives me an image which he got from the net, ask me to make it to a 6000x4000 fine detailed image for the magazine. He does not want me to show any paint brush stoke, has to be photo realistic. I don't know if there is a technic you can use to blow up a small image to a magazine print. It looks very pixelized. Does anyone ever encounterd this situation? Any technic you can use? Now I am just taking photos and try to adjust and match the shape of the clouds from the small image he gave to me, then doing colour adjusting to match the colour. Paint on top of it if necessary. Is this the correct way to work? How long usually this type of work takes?

Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
smooth is Offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 265
Join Date: Nov 2004
Default 04-13-2005, 11:41 AM

Tell your boss not to be cheap and purchase a professional image from gettyimages.com. and modify that one. You can't produce miracles. If it's pixelated now only GOD can make it 6000x whatever at print rez.
But you know what...spend weeks trying AND THEN tell him. :) Maybe that will shed some light into that black hole of his for next time.

it's not your fault but it can't be done. Print rez for mags and the junk u get from the net is apples and oranges. And turning an apple into an orange is God's domain...not yours. :)

I can't believe some people man..clueless. Art Director even! lol
Your in Montreal!? Where do you work? Maybe I can pass by and apply for that Art Dir. position. LOLOL might be vacant soon.

+smooth+
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
JayMTL is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default 04-13-2005, 12:36 PM

Thanks Smooth for the feedback!
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
homer's Avatar
homer is Offline
Moderator
 
Posts: 369
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default 04-13-2005, 01:31 PM

The best way as +smooth+ said is to buy a high res. image and modify that.

You can also
  • - Resize the image to its final version.
    - Then use filters such as Noise>Median.. and try to get rid of the big pixels as much as you can.
    - This way you will lose the details but keep the colors and shapes
    - Then divide it to small parts, which you want to add details
    - Now use similar available sky photosfor each part and add detail to each small part

And I think it might take you a day or two
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
JayMTL is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default 04-13-2005, 03:07 PM

Thanks homer. This is what I am doing now, I am gald that I am on right track. I am using hi-res coulds photos to replace the original clouds piece by piece, it will not look exactly the same, but will keep the shape and layout, also has the details of texture of clouds, then I will add the lighting. I think it will take me at least 3 days of work.

Again, thanks
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
maxgabl is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 40
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Default 04-13-2005, 05:59 PM

You can also try Pixel Smart Scale from Extensis and Altamira's Genuine Fractals for uprezing. They use fractal algorhythms to interpolate so you can rez up quite a bit without getting pixelation. This might be just the solution for skies. I think both companies let you download demo versions.
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
mdwsr is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jan 2005
Send a message via ICQ to mdwsr
Default 04-14-2005, 08:20 AM

Try increasing the size 10% at a time. I made an action to do this after reading about it in some book or other, and it works surprisingly well. When I need to make an image larger I just click my action over and over until it is the size I need.
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
JayMTL is Offline
Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default 04-14-2005, 12:32 PM

Thanks maxgabl and mdwsr. I am going to try both of you said to see if they work for my picture. Thanks. :D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com