Reload this Page Matte Painting Hand book by David Mattingly
General Discussions News, Chat ...

Matte Painting Hand book by David Mattingly
(#1)
Old

Send a message via Yahoo to metalrahul Send a message via Skype™ to metalrahul
Default Matte Painting Hand book by David Mattingly - 02-28-2011, 11:01 PM

http://www.sybex.com/WileyCDA/SybexT...Id-290541.html

This is something to look forward to, maybe David can give us some early insights into his upcoming book?

Comper / Matte Painter
rkvfx.com

my freaking blog
raysinblue.blogspot.com
(#2)
Old

Default 03-01-2011, 06:03 AM

hmm. Over 400 pages of stuff sounds interesting. I was actually wondering what he has been doing, but it came obvious now. :-D
Digital Matte Painting Handbook
(#3)
Old

Default Digital Matte Painting Handbook - 03-01-2011, 07:24 AM

Hi Rahul--

I have been teaching matte painting for 7 years at School of Visual Arts and Pratt Institute in New York City, and I always wanted a text book for the class. I have students from different areas of study, so the early chapters introduce them to the tools in Photoshop, and they create concept sketches over a plate I provide. Next the reader is introduced to the basics of perspective, and with the concept sketch as a base, they do a perspective drawing. On top of that, a form painting is done, which is textured using photographic reference.

I dedicate three chapters to camera projection in Maya. Most of the tutorials I have encountered on camera projection were not detailed enough to get a student through the process. My chapters are broken down into a series of steps, with checklists and illustrations to keep a learner on track. At the end, the reader will have a basic camera projection of the project created in the early chapters.